Marvel took a page off Apple’s book and invited press and fans to a special event in Hollywood this morning to announce their planned line-up for Phase 3 in their Marvel Cinematic Universe. The many announcements made during the event include new franchises Black Panther, Captain Marvel, Inhumans and Doctor Strange.

Black Panther and Captain Marvel will finally mark Marvel’s first black and female superhero solo films, after enduring harsh criticism from the public for the lack of lead diversity in their films. Black Panther will hit theatres on November 3, 2017, while Captain Marvel is dated for July 6, 2018. Marvel confirmed Chadwick Boseman as Black Panther.

The other two new franchises are Inhumans, Marvel’s direct response to Fox’s X-Men franchise, scheduled for November 2, 2018; and Doctor Strange, with Benedict Cumberbatch in negotiations for the lead role, on November 4, 2016.

They also made announcements regarding sequels to their ongoing properties. Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 hits on May 5, 2017, with Thor: Ragnarok following later that summer on July 28, 2017. The next instalment in the Avengers franchise will be so big that it will need to be split in two (of course it will). Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 on May 4, 2018, and Part 2 coming May 3, 2019.

Finally, the third Captain America film is now called Captain America: Civil War and it opens on May 6, 2016. Robert Downey Jr. is now confirmed for the film, and it was revealed that Black Panther will appear in full costume on said movie.

Whoa. So much to take in. Here’s the complete Phase 3 line-up in chronological order for you to analize:

Captain America: Civil War – May 6, 2016
Doctor Strange – November 4, 2016
Guardians of the Galaxy 2 – May 5, 2017
Thor: Ragnarok – July 28, 2017
Black Panther – November 3, 2017
Avengers: Infinity War, Part 1 – May 4, 2018
Captain Marvel – July 6, 2018
Inhumans – November 2, 2018
Avengers: Infinity War, Part 2 – May 3, 2019

Share on Pinterest